Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations

Women’s Six Nations champions France name team for Wales opener

Women’s Six Nations champions France name team for Wales opener
  • Toulouse’s Camille Imart gets the call at fly-half
  • The 2018 Grand Slam winners will be looking for a repeat of last year's 38-3 win over Wales
  • Twin sisters Marine and Romane Ménager feature

Women’s Six Nations champions France have named the line up for their 2019 Championship opener against Wales.

Annick Hayraud’s side begin their title defence in Montpellier, with flanker Gaëlle Hermet taking the captain’s armband.

Last year’s Grand Slam winners have named Toulouse’s Camille Imart at fly-half and she is partnered in the half-backs by Pauline Bourdon.

Montpellier RC’s Marine Ménager is named at centre, alongside Gabrielle Vernier while Léa Murie, Ian Jason and Caroline Boujard make up the back three.

Romane Ménager, twin sister of Marine, and Céline Ferer will be in the back row alongside Hermet, with Safi N’Diaye and Lénaïg Corson named as the locks.

The starting XV is completed by front row Clara Joyeux, starting at tighthead following the retirement of Julie Duval, Caroline Thomas and Lise Arricastre.

In the encounter between the two sides in last year’s Championship, France ran in six tries with Bourdon among the scorers in a 38-3 win that sealed the slam for Les Bleues.

France Women’s team to face Wales in Montpellier on Saturday (kick off 9pm)

15.Caroline Boujard (Montpellier RC)
14. Ian Jason (Stade Toulousain)
13. Marine Menager (Montpellier RC)
12. Gabrielle Vernier (Lille MRC Villeneuvois)
11. Léa Murie (Stade Toulousain)
10. Camille Imart (Stade Toulousain)
9. Pauline Bourdon (AS Bayonnaise)

1. Lise Arricastre (Lons Rugby Féminin Béarn Pyrénées)
2. Caroline Thomas (ASM Romagnat Rugby Féminin)
3. Clara Joyeux (Blagnac Rugby Féminin)
4. Lénaïg Corson (Stade Français Paris)
5. Safi N’Diaye (Montpellier RC)
6. Gaëlle Hermet (c) (Stade Toulousain)
Céline Ferer (AS Bayonnaise)
8. Romane Menager (Monpellier RC)


16. Laure Touye (Blagnac Rugby Féminin)
17. Dhia Maylis Traore (Stade Toulousain)
18. Sabina Argagnon (AS Bayonnaise)
19. Audrey Forlani (Blagnac Rugby Féminin)
20. Fiona Lecat (Stade Toulousain), 
21. Yanna Rivoalen (Lille MRC Villeneuvois) 
22. Morgane Peyronnet (Montpellier RC) 
23. Doriane Constanty (Stade Francais Paris)