Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations

Four changes to Scotland Women for Wales clash

Four changes to Scotland Women for Wales clash
  • Mhairi Grieve will return at scrum-half after Sarah Law's injury
  • Head coach Shade Munro has made four changes to his side
  • Mairi Forysth will join the starting XV for the first time at tighthead

Mhairi Grieve will return to the Scotland starting XV in one of four changes made by head coach Shade Munro for their Women’s Six Nations clash against Wales.

Scrum-half Grieves comes back into the side for the Round Four encounter on Friday night at Scotstoun Stadium following the injury sustained by Sarah Law.

Elsewhere, Mairi Forysth will join the starting XV for the first time at tighthead, while Megan Kennedy will move across to loose-head prop with Lana Skeldon remaining as hooker.

Sarah Bonar moves back to the second row alongside Emma Wassell and Rachel Malcolm, who sustained an injury in the second-round fixture against Ireland, starts at blindside.

She will be joined in the back row by Jade Konkel and Rachel McLachlan, with forwards Lisa Cockburn and Nicola Howat on the bench.

The rest of the squad remains unchanged from the third-round fixture against France in Lille with Rhona Lloyd and Annabel Sergeant in the wings and Helen Nelson at 10.

Hannah Smith remains at 13 and skipper Lisa Thomson joins her again in the centre at 12.

Munro said: “This is our last home game in the 2019 Women’s Six Nations. The support that we have had at Scotstoun has been brilliant.

“We have had really tight matches against Wales over the last two years so I am sure this will be an exciting hard-fought encounter.”

Scotland and Wales will both be looking for a win on Friday night.

With Wales currently ranked eighth in the world and Scotland twelfth, the hosts will be aiming to increase their ranking with a win over the Welsh as well as register a much-needed win in the Women’s Six Nations Championships.

Scotland Women are still in search of a victory in this year’s Women’s Six Nations, having lost to Italy, Ireland and France in their three Championship matches so far.

Wales lost their opening match to the French 52-3 but followed that up with an away 3-3 draw against Italy before losing their most recent fixture against England in Cardiff.

Scotland starting XV: 15. Chloe Rollie, 14. Rhona Lloyd, 13. Hannah Smith, 12. Lisa Thomson, 11. Annabel Sergeant, 10. Helen Nelson, 9. Mhairi Grieve, 1. Megan Kennedy, 2. Lana Skeldon, 3. Mairi Forsyth, 4. Emma Wassell, 5. Sarah Bonar, 6. Rachel Malcolm, 7. Rachel McLachlan, 8. Jade Konkel

Replacements: 16. Jodie Rettie, 17. Lisa Cockburn, 18. Katie Dougan, 19. Nicola Howat, 20. Deborah McCormack, 21. Jenny Maxwell, 22. Lisa Martin, 23. Abi Evans