Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations

Maxwell back in side as Munro makes three changes to Scotland Women

Maxwell back in side as Munro makes three changes to Scotland Women
  • Jenny Maxwell makes her return to the Scotland Women's starting XV
  • Sarah Bonar will move from flanker to back row
  • Nicola Howatt will also come into the side

Scotland Women head coach Shade Munro has made three changes to his starting line-up ahead of the Women’s Six Nations match against England this Saturday.

Jenny Maxwell will start at scrum-half for her 24th cap as the Scots travel to Twickenham Stadium to try and pick up their first win in the Championship.

Munro has opted for Nicola Howatt in the second row, while Sarah Bonar will play at flanker after Rachel Malcolm suffered concussion last week.

All eyes will also be on the replacements as Panashe Muzambe makes the Scotland bench for the first time.

Munro was positive ahead of the fixture, saying: “I am proud of how the team played last Friday against Wales. The result was hugely disappointing, but they put in a strong performance.

“England are incredibly strong, but we have been doing everything we can to prepare for the match.

“Jenny has done very well coming off the bench to scrum-half, adding impetus and pace to our attack on every occasion. She deserves her opportunity to start.”

England have excelled in this year’s Women’s Six Nations, winning four out of four and scoring at least 40 points in all their victories.

But Scotland will look to build on last Friday’s narrow loss to Wales as they put out a tweaked XV.

Scotland Women vs Wales (Saturday 16 March, 7.30pm, Twickenham)

15. Chloe Rollie (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvios)
14. Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning)
13. Hannah Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill)
12. Lisa Thomson (Darlington Mowden Park) (c)
11. Annabel Sergeant (Heriots Rugby Club)
10. Helen Nelson (Montpellier)
9. Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)

1. Megan Kennedy (Stirling County)
2. Lana Skeldon (Watsonians)
3. Mairi Forsyth (Stirling County)
4. Emma Wassell (Heriots Rugby Club)
5. Nicola Howat (Edinburgh University)
6. Sarah Bonar (Loughborough Lightning)
7. Rachel McLachlan (Stirling County)
8. Jade Konkel ** (Harlequins)


16. Jodie Rettie (Saracens)
17. Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park)
18. Katie Dougan (Gloucester Hartpury)
19. Panashe Muzambe (Watsonians RFC)
20. Deborah McCormack (Harlequins)
21. Mhairi Grieve (Firwood Waterloo)
22. Lisa Martin (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvios)
23. Abi Evans (Hillhead Jordanhill)