Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations

Teenager Parsons to start as Ireland make two changes to side

Teenager Parsons to start as Ireland make two changes to side

Teenager Beibhinn Parsons will make her first start for Ireland Women as head coach Adam Griggs makes two changes to his side to face Wales this Sunday.

The Ballinasloe winger, 17, will be part of an Irish team looking to finish the Women’s Six Nations on a high after a couple of losses have knocked the side into fourth place.

Parsons’ three caps have come off the bench – including one in the loss against France as she replaced the injured Alison Miller – but the game in Cardiff represents her first start for the national side.

In the other alteration, loosehead prop Lindsey Peat will make her first start of the Championship after recovering from a neck injury, consigning Laura Feely to the bench.

In another injury boost for Ireland, flanker Edel McMahon is deemed fit enough to be named among the replacements and boost the depth of the side.

Griggs may not have revamped his team selection significantly, but he is determined for the group of players to finish strongly.

“Everyone is disappointed with the result against France. We want to make sure we take control of our performance this weekend and finish on a positive note moving forward,” he said.

“While we feel our results don’t reflect the team’s progress and performances over the past few weeks, we have been honest with ourselves and know we have to get better at playing at this level.

“The ladies have committed 100% to the last six months and have made a lot of positive strides forward. We now need to combine some of those exciting moments we’ve had with our continuous work-ons to get that complete performance.”

Ireland Women vs Wales (Sunday 17 March, 1.30pm, Cardiff Arms Park)

15.Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo Ladies/IQ Rugby)
14. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster)
13. Enya Breen (UL Bohemians/Munster)
12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11. Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Connacht)
10. Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/Connacht)
9. Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster)

1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
2. Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (UL Bohemians/Munster)
3. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)
5. Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/Connacht)
6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (C)
7. Claire Molloy (Wasps)
8. Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/Ulster)

16. Emma Hooban (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
17. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
18. Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht)
19. Edel McMahon (Galwegians/Connacht)
20. Anna Caplice (Richmond)
21. Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
22. Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
23. Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemians/Munster)