Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations

Double change for Ireland Women as they look to maintain perfect record

Double change for Ireland Women as they look to maintain perfect record

Ireland Women head coach Adam Griggs has made a pair of changes to the starting XV which beat Wales 31-12 in Round 2, as they travel to England for Sunday’s Women’s Six Nations fixture.

Aoife Doyle and Katie Fitzhenry replace Beibhinn Parsons and Michelle Claffey in the back line respectively.

Connacht’s Parsons has decided to take time away from the sport to pursue her Leaving Cert preparation, but Griggs says she will return in the summer once her studies have concluded.

Heading into the third round of games, Ireland and England are the only two unbeaten sides in the Championship.

However, if Ireland want to maintain hopes of a second Grand Slam title, they will need to beat the Red Roses in England for the first time.

“We are really looking forward to traveling over to Doncaster for this match. We have had a solid start to the tournament with two wins and are happy with the step up in our performance from week to week so far,” Griggs said.

“England are the defending champions and are coming into this game unbeaten too so it’s going to be a real challenge.

“However we intend to focus on what we can control within our own game and believe if we get our systems right that we should be able to really put them under pressure.

“We have no intention of giving them anything easy and are relishing the opportunity to test ourselves against one of the best in the world.”

Ireland team to face England on Sunday:

15- Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian/ Munster) (14)
14 – Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo/ IQ Rugby) (10)
13 – Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) (36)
12 – Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/ Leinster) (12)
11 – Aoife Doyle (Railway Union/ Munster) (5)
10 – Claire Keohane (Railway Union/ Munster) (2)
9 – Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/ Ulster) (8)
1 – Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster) (29)
2 – Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/ IQ Rugby) (21)
3 – Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) (7)
4 – Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/ Leinster) (12)
5 – Judy Bobbett (Blackrock/ Leinster) (2)
6 – Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/ Munster) (31) Capt.
7 – Edel McMahon (Wasps/ Connacht / IQ Rugby) (8)
8 – Anna Caplice (Harlequins/ IQ Rugby) (13)


16 – Victoria Dabanovich O’Mahony (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) (2)
17 – Laura Feely (Galwegians/ Connacht) (14)
18 – Leah Lyons (Harlequins/ IQ Rugby) (23)
19 – Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/ Leinster) (19)
20 – Dorothy Wall (Railway Union/ Munster) (2)
21 – Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian / Munster) (15)
22 – Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union/ Leinster) (46)
23 – Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere RFC/ Leinster) (15)