Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations

Hayraud makes four changes as France Women prepare for Wales

Hayraud makes four changes as France Women prepare for Wales

France head coach Annick Hayraud wants to test her squad when they travel to Cardiff Arms Park in Round 3 of the Women’s Six Nations on Sunday.

Hayraud has made four changes to the France side that beat Italy 45-10 last time out – bouncing back from an opening-round loss to England.

On Sunday they face a Wales side still looking for their first win of the Championship after losing to Italy and Ireland.

Coumba Diallo, Agathe Sochat and Coralie Bertrand will all make their first starts of the 2020 Women’s Six Nations.

Diallo comes into the back row, with Julie Annery moving to blind-side flanker to replace Celine Ferer.

Souchat replaces Caroline Thomas as the hooker, while Bertrand takes the place of Nassira Konde at outside centre in the only change to the backs.

Gaelle Hermet returns at No.8 to captain the side in place of Romane Menager, who had started both previous fixtures.

Hayraud is pleased by the performances of her squad so far this Championship but is eager to give new players an opportunity in what is likely to be testing conditions.

“Our decisions are based on several aspects, particularly the difficult weather conditions with a huge amount of wind and rain,” she said.

“What’s more, Wales have a strong set-piece, they are very solid up front. They are a team with an irreproachable mindset, they never give up.

“In terms of our team, we have had some things we have been pleased with and some players who we want to see in action, like Coralie Bertrand.

“It has been a while since she played with us so it’s interesting to test her in this match.”

France Women’s team to face Wales: 15 Jessy Tremouliere, 14 Cyrielle Banet, 13 Coralie Bertrand, 12 Morgane Peyronnet, 11 Marine Menager, 10 Pauline Bourdon, 9 Laure Sansus, 1 Dhia Mailys Traore, 2 Agathe Souchat, 3 Clara Joyeux, 4 Safi N’Diaye, 5 Audrey Forlani, 6 Julie Annery, 7 Coumba Diallo, 8 Gaelle Hermet (c)

Replacements: 16 Laure Touye, 17 Lise Arricastre, 18 Yllana Brosseau, 19 Lenaig Corson, 20 Celine Ferer, 21 Yanna Rivoalen, 22 Camille Boudaud, 23 Caroline Boujard