Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations

Women’s Six Nations: How the 2021 Championship will work

Women’s Six Nations: How the 2021 Championship will work

After months of anticipation, the Women’s Six Nations returns with four weekends of action throughout the month of April. And we can’t wait to get going.

The challenges presented by Covid-19 meant that the Championship was re-scheduled from its customary February and March date, only adding to the build-up.

England arrive as the current holders and defending Grand Slam champions after they won all five of their matches in the 2020 Championship.

As ever, France will be a major threat as they seek to regain the trophy they last won in 2018, while Ireland can never be counted out and Scotland, Wales and Italy will all be keen to make their mark.

How is it going to work? 

Starting on Saturday 3rd April and finishing three weeks later on 24th April, this year’s Women’s Championship will see a new and condensed format similar to that of the recent Autumn Nations Cup, culminating in a Super Saturday Finals Day to crown the 2021 Women’s Six Nations champions.

The format will comprise of two pools of three teams with each team playing one home and one away fixture. Once the pool round matches are complete, teams will face off against the opposing ranked team from the other pool on Super Saturday, i.e. 1st place Pool A v 1st place Pool B.

Who plays who? 

Defending champions England open their campaign against rivals Scotland at Castle Park, Doncaster in Round 1 on April 3, while Italy are also in Pool A.

The Azzure make their introduction a week later when they host England in Padova, before visiting Scotland in Round 3.

Pool B opens up with France playing host to Wales in Vannes, with Ireland marking their arrival a week later with a trip to Wales.

Ireland then host France in Round 3 to complete the pool.

When are the Finals? 

The two pool winners face off in a final on Super Saturday Finals Day on April 24, while the two sides that finish second and the two sides that finish third also meet that weekend, with the three Pool A sides being the home teams.


Finals (all Pool A teams at home)

24 April: 5th/6th Place

24 April: 3rd/4th Place

24 April: 1st/2nd Place