Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations

Easson names Scotland team to face Spain in RWC Qualifier

Rachel McLachlan comes up against Ilaria Arrighetti

Bryan Easson has made a couple of changes to Scotland’s starting line-up for their Rugby World Cup 2021 Europe Qualifier clash with Spain.

Louise McMillan moves to the second-row in the absence of Sarah Bonar, who is unavailable due to work commitments, while land moves to the back-row from the bench.

Preview: RWC 2021 Europe Qualifier – Matchday 2

Easson said: “Our opening match of the tournament was a disappointment and not a true reflection of the hard work our players have put in over the past year.

“We will be put to the test against Spain, who we expect to be extremely motivated following their result against Ireland last weekend, but our players have responded well on-and-off the pitch this week and are determined to deliver a performance that keeps our qualification chances in sight.”

Leah Bartlett, Lana Skeldon and Christine Belisle once again join forces in the front-row, while Emma Wassell starts alongside McMillan in the second-row.

The pack is completed by captain Rachel Malcolm, who joins McLachlan and Jade Konkel in the back-row.

Jenny Maxwell and Helen Nelson will continue to pull the strings through their half-back partnership, while Lisa Thomson partners Hannah Smith in midfield.

A settled back-three sees Chloe Rollie continue at full-back, with Megan Gaffney and Rhona Lloyd again lining up on the wing.

Siobhan Cattigan and Abi Evans are named in the replacements, with both players primed for their first involvement in the tournament.

Scotland team to face Spain:

15. Chloe Rollie (Exeter Chiefs) – 41 caps
14. Rhona Lloyd (Les Lionness Du Stade Bordelais) – 29 caps
13. Hannah Smith (Watsonians) – 27 caps
12. Lisa Thomson (Sale Sharks) – 36 caps
11. Megan Gaffney (Heriot’s) – 18 caps
10. Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning) – 33 caps
9. Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning) – 33 caps
1. Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning) – 8 caps
2. Lana Skeldon (Worcester Warriors) – 44 caps
3. Christine Belisle (Cartha Queens Park) – 8 caps
4. Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning) – 48 caps
5. Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 27 caps
6. Rachel Malcolm (Loughborough Lightning) CAPTAIN – 20 caps
7. Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks) – 20 caps
8. Jade Konkel (Harlequins) – 45 caps


16. Molly Wright (Watsonians) – 6 caps
17. Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park) – 19 caps
18. Katie Dougan (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 14 caps
19. Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County) – 18 caps
20. Evie Gallagher (Stirling County) – 4 caps
21. Mairi McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 7 caps
22. Sarah Law (Sale Sharks) – 44 caps
23. Abi Evans (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 15 caps