Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations

Women’s Six Nations stars headline Barbarians team

Women’s Six Nations stars headline Barbarians team

A glittering array of Women’s Six Nations stars have been named in the Barbarian Women’s squad for Saturday’s blockbuster clash with the Springboks at Twickenham.

Red Roses trio Rochelle “Rocky” Clark, Katy Daley-Mclean and Natasha “Mo” Hunt – who have 308 caps between them – have all been confirmed in the matchday 23.

2014 World Cup winner Clark, who will represent the Barbarian Women for a third time, starts on the bench while Hunt and Daley-Mclean both start.

Griffin scores twice to earn Ireland win in final game

The front row sees Ireland prop Lindsay Peat start alongside Laura Russell of Canada and the USA’s Hope Rogers, with France’s Lenaig Corson joined by Alycia Washington behind them in the second row.

Ciara Griffin celebrates after making her last appearance for Ireland

Ciara Griffin starts at No.6 a week after she ended her international career with two tries in a match-winning performance for Ireland against Japan at the RDS Arena.

Griffin, who has captained Ireland since 2018, starts alongside Canadian flanker Karen Paquin and fellow Irish No.8 Anna Caplice.

Hunt is reunited with former England teammate fly-half and 2014 World Cup-winner Daley-Mclean in the half-back partnership, with Hunt captaining the team.

Red Roses have improved the women’s game – Middleton

The rest of the backline features USA’s Sarah Levy on the left wing, Scotland’s Rhona Lloyd on the right wing and Bulou Mataitoga of the USA at full-back.

Ireland duo Jenny Murphy and Sene Naoupu complete the starting XV, forming the midfield partnership for the clash with the Springboks.

On the bench, Clark is joined by, Spain’s Isabel Rico Vazquez and Bristol Bears’ Simi Pam as well as Saracens’ Sonia Green and Beth Dainton of Wales.

New Zealand’s Sammy Wong, France’s Morgane Peyronnet and Katie Mason of England complete the matchday 23.

Barbarians Women XV:

15 Bulou Mataitoga (USA, Berkeley All Blues)
14 Rhona Lloyd (Scotland, Les Lionnes dU Stade Bordelais)
13 Sene Naoupu (Ireland, Leinster)
12 Jenny Murphy (Ireland, Old Belvedere)
11 Sarah Levy (USA, New York Rugby Club)
10 Katy Daley-McLean (England, Sale Sharks)
9 Natasha Hunt (England, Gloucester Hartpury) CAPTAIN

1 Lindsay Peat (Ireland, Railway Union)
2 Laura Russell (Canada, Toronto Nomads)
3 Hope Rogers (USA, Life West)
4 Alycia Washington (USA, Worcester Warriors)
5 Lenaig Corson (France, Stade Rennais Rugby)
6 Ciara Griffin (Ireland, UL Bohemians) VICE CAPTAIN
7 Karen Paquin (Canada, Stade Bordelais)
8 Anna Caplice (Ireland, Gloucester Hartpury)


16 Isabel Rico Vazquez (Spain, Olímpico De Pozuelo Madrid)
17 Rochelle Clark (England, Saracens)
18 Simi Pam (England, Bristol Bears)
19 Sonia Green (England, Saracens)
20 Beth Dainton (Wales, Harlequins)
21 Sammy Wong (New Zealand, Wasps)
22 Morgane Peyronnet (France, Montpellier Herault Rugby)
23 Katie Mason (England, Wasps)